Report Returning Employees Online
- New hire reports are due within 20 days of hiring a new or returning employee.
- Reporting online is free, fast and secure. New hire reporting is required by law.
- Reporting helps children get the child support they need, while helping to combat unemployment fraud.
Federal and State law requires employers to report newly hired and re-hired employees in Maryland to the Maryland State Directory of New Hire. This site will provide you with information about reporting new hires including reporting online and other reporting options.
The Maryland New Hire Reporting Program is mandated by federal and state laws and is a service of the Maryland Department of Human Resources, Child Support Enforcement Administration.
Maryland State Md. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT Code Ann. § 8-626.1 and the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act (PRWORA) of 1996, 42 U.S.C. 653a, requires all employers to report newly hired and re-hired employees to a state directory within 20 days of their hire or re-hire date.